It’s only words

This year, if I remember nothing else, I will remember this:

It’s only words.

I don’t mean to quote any songs here, and apologise if you’ve now got an earworm you could do without.  But I find it’s easy to build up this writing business into something difficult and serious, when it should be fun.  (For someone who loves to laugh, I can get ever so serious.)

I’m not saying writing’s not important.  But if we tell ourselves too often that it’s important and that what we write (and whether we write) matters, we can end up with brainfreeze as well as earworms.

When I remember that they’re only words, the words seem to flow more easily.

2 thoughts on “It’s only words

  1. I’ve been stressing lately … Having made the decision to set aside distractions and Get Serious About Writing, I can’t think of a single dang thing to write about. So, panic – what if I’ve lost my talent? What if it’s too late? What if I never had any talent to begin with?

    Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

