What’s your Thing?

Words have always been my thing.  What’s yours?

I read books to get lost in the words and the worlds they create.

I remember thousands of song lyrics and am well known for having a song for every occasion.  Even after 18 years the husband claims he hasn’t heard some of the ones I suddenly bring forth.

I used to love to act on stage – not for the glory or the applause, but for the words.

All the ‘proper jobs’ I’ve ever had have involved either speaking or writing.  (As a major part of the job, I mean; I know most people speak and many write at work!)

I watch films and forget who was in them – I even forget I’ve seen them, but you can bet I remember the great line that made me laugh, or think, or cry.

Apparently I learned to speak, and to sit looking at books, earlier than I learned to walk.  Which makes me either a fast developer, or a slow one, depending on your point of view.

I knew from the age of eight that I would write.

It took me until age cough39cough to take that eight year old seriously.  She sat, patiently waiting, and grabbing every opportunity to write when I let her.

Finally, I’m listening to the words.  They’ve always been there.

Words are definitely my thing.  What’s yours?

43 thoughts on “What’s your Thing?

  1. Pingback: What are your themes? | Verbal Dreaming

  2. Concepts are my thing. I love the abstract notions of things. I have learned early on to build a framework of ideas and concepts in my mind and with each new concept I learn, I try to figure out how it interconnects with the other concepts and I begin to see patterns in the web.

    So whether I’m working on a piece of computer program, thinking up a new game, writing a poem or an essay, I try to make sure that the words that I write, the images that I pick and show, or the music that I play is in line with my core concept. I’ve seen a pattern in my writing that a lot of my posts revolve around a single theme, almost to the point that I’m reusing what I have written years ago, I guess that all boils down to my fondness with a certain concept, whether it’s about depression, faith, career development, etc.

  3. Patterns…yes. I think it’s words that help me to uncover the patterns and concepts. I’m a bit of a literal person so abstract notions are something I tend to come at sideways, if you see what I mean. I admire people like you who can think in the abstract! But, like you, I return time and again to the same themes. There’s always something new to uncover.

  4. A “thing” is hard to pin point. My five year old self (fresh off expulsion from Sunday School for asking questions that upset the other children) would answer differently from my friends of today (who might say it was ancient history or space weather) to my own reflection (I write every day with honesty and conviction because it makes me happy). 🙂

  5. It’s always the writers that ask the upsetting questions! You’re right that a ‘thing’ can change – but I bet there’s a theme or themes running through them all.

  6. I found out at the age of 32 (I’m now 35) that I could write, although I think I’ve always known that I wanted to be a writer, so I totally understand what you said about the eight-year old you. Better late than not at all though is what I say 🙂

  7. Reblogged this on Tintenfinger. and commented:
    Usually we’re the ones who stand in our own way to comprehending of what we really want and need. This post made me think and realize that I’m still not where I should and need to be. I also started talking and reading at an early age, and was certain about my life goals by the age of six, but over the years I somehow forgot that and what’s most important to me. I lived by society’s standards, not by mine.

    Thank you, Liz. This post really inspired me.

  8. Words were mine, as well. I think there must be a switch in the latter half of our 30s to push us to take our youthful dreams seriously. I’m glad you are listening to the words!

    • I think you could be right there. Almost like a switch flicking in the brain, reminding us that the eight year old is still waiting.

  9. I like words too. They are very powerful. What helped realize this is learning other languages. I studied Hebrew and Greek and they came very easy to me while I watched others struggle tremendously. While studying those languages I came to appreciate words and the power that comes with them.

  10. For a large portion of my life I’ve put pen to paper; I’ve always been drawn to words. But if I feel like I’m still searching for something does that mean I haven’t yet found “my thing”? I think I use writing to search, to question, so maybe Searching is my thing 🙂

    • You’ve made me stop and think there, Grace. I feel I may still be searching for the thing (or things) I’m going to do with my writing, but the writing is the Thing. It doesn’t have to be (in fact it probably isn’t) an end in itself though. Thought-provoking, thank you!

  11. I think my thing has always to do something with penmanship. I have just recently started doing calligraphy and I love it! And the best thing is that what will keep me going on is the fact that there are many styles to learn and so I am determined to keep learning and improving my skills in calligraphy.

  12. Reblogged this on Musing and Boozing and commented:
    I’m still working on finding my “thing”. It is so encouraging and comforting to know it has taken other people many years to figure out their passions in life. I’m excited for this mysterious journey I am taking in life on my mission to finally figure out my calling. Great blog post! 🙂

  13. After ten years working in the banking industry which I have taken a break from over the last five weeks, I have discovered that writing is my passion also! I’m about to return to banking but will be undertaking journalism and writing studies on the side as I don’t want to add any more “I wish I had’s” to the list. I’m going to change them to “I’m glad I did’s” if you get my drift 🙂 I loved this entry.

  14. You have far more patience than me, but I am so glad that you do. My thing is expression, be it through words, sights, sounds or actions. For the past “cough48couch” years – if kept from being able to express myself, I become withdrawn and lifeless.

    • Words are a great way of expressing ourselves but you’re right – there are many others. It’s one of the things that makes the world such a fascinating place!

      • I love the words fascinating and wondrous. Even during the darkest days (or the lightest) – the world is as see it, as well as the world that we ignore – is immensely fascinating and wondrous!

  15. Hmmm, what is my thing? One day I hope to discover what it is. in the meantime, I’ll continue reading anything I can get my hands on and pretend to write a little and do a few other things that keep me sane and happy. 🙂

  16. What it is a thing? A many splendid thing, a rhyming thing, a funny punny thing or a money thing. Sometimes it is just fun to play around with words and see how they fit in this order and it changes the whole concept of a thing. My growing love is etymology I hope that is the word for it but it is the study of where words came from; their birthplace the reason they were made. Often in the course of words they are as fluid and soft or fast and furious as the air and solid as the gravity that holds them to the earth. Words are like people, they are birthed, they age and in their youth they have that energy that never seems to die no matter how much it is used then we get comfortable and we associate the word with maturer and greater meaning and then it gets old and begins to get wrinkled and fade from view and the word loses some of its impact but it is still a word and then it seems to fade away into a dictionary and there the collection is only frequented by someone who seldom hunts for it but not for the reason that it once had or the power that it used to employ. Words words words oh how they make our life full and overflowing only because we fill our life with them. A life of words is like a field strewn with magic of a million flowers in bloom. Here they are formed into patches to delight every sense to vault them to the highest extremes of our imagination.. All you want to do is just mmmm have a picnic among them and just stay for awhile..

  17. Pingback: Positive thinking and how to begin | Verbal Dreaming

Leave a Reply

